Honors and Awards

Membership in Honor Societies         

Phi Kappa Phi

Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Sigma Iota

Who’s Who in American Junior Colleges

Who’s Who in the Media and Communications

Who’s Who Among International Students at U.S. Colleges

Who’s Who in International Youth in Achievement

Who’s Who in the Social Sciences

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

Assistantships, Fellowships and Scholarships

Selected for Chi Omega Doctoral Fellowship, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1997-98.

Selected for Preparing Future Faculty Fellowship, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.  1997-98.

Graduate Assistant, UNL Women’s Studies Program. 1996-97.

Selected for University of Nebraska Board of Regents Graduate Tuition Fellowship. 1992.

U.S. Achievement Academy National Collegiate Scholarship. 1990.

Los Angeles Times/Associated Collegiate Press National Editorial Leadership Award. One of three recipients in nation. Fall 1989.

Roy W. Howard Scholarship for Public Affairs Reporting.  One of 10 recipients in nation. 1989.

Society of Professional Journalists/The Wichita (Kan.) Eagle-Beacon scholarship. Fall 1987.

Society of Professional Journalists/Fort Worth (Texas) News Tribune scholarship. Fall 1987, Fall 1986, Spring 1986.

Dr. Quiko International Peace Scholarship. Fort Hays State University. 1987.

Residence Hall Scholarship, Fort Hays State University. 1986-87

Katherine Rogers Journalism Scholarship, Fort Hays State University. Fall 1987

Stouffer International Student Scholarship, Fort Hays State University. Fall 1987

Miller Scholarship, Fort Hays State University. 1986-87

Journalism scholarship, Cowley County Community College. 1985-1986

Kiwanis Travel Scholarship, Arkansas City, KS. 1985

Selected for Stipendium of the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, Germany. 1984.

Academic Awards

Nominated for 2004 BGSU Outstanding Contributor to Graduate Education award. Spring 2004.

BGSU Authors and Artists Honoree. The Friends of Libraries and Learning Resources, BGSU. November 2001, 2002, 2003.

Central States Communication Association Annual Outstanding New Teacher Award. April 2001.

Top Student Debut Paper, SCA Interpersonal and Small Group Interaction Division, SCA Conference. San Antonio, Texas. 1995.

Distinguished Service Award. Cowley County Community College. 1986.

Journalist of the Year. Cowley County Community College. 1986.

Award Romain Rolland, German-French Society, West Germany. 1982.

Prix Jean Christophe, Society Rhineland-Palatinate-Burgundie, West Germany. 1982.

United States Achievement Academy/National Collegiate Foreign Language and Communication awards.